

Senate Committee on Community, Economic and Recreational Development

Catherine A. Washburn

Executive Director

cwashburn@pasen.gov

Senator Jane M. Earll
Chairwoman

Jason R. Brehouse, Esq. Executive Counsel jbrehouse@pasen.gov

Senate Box 203049 • Harrisburg, PA 17120-3049 • (717) 787-8927

Senate Bill 800, Printer's No. 809

Date: June 13, 2011

Sponsor: Senator Waugh

Bill Summary

Senate Bill 800, Printer's No. 809, amends section 201 (a) [relating to the establishment of the commissions – State Horse Racing Commission (Thoroughbred Horse Racing)] of the act of December 17, 1981 (P.L.435, No.135), known as the Race Horse Industry Reform Act, by further providing for the composition of the State Horse Racing Commission in that not more than two of the three commissioners shall at the time of appointment reside in the same county. The purpose of this legislation is to ensure geographical diversity among the members of the State Horse Racing Commission.

It should be noted that other state commissions (i.e. Fish Commission and Game Commission) require that members be chosen from <u>specific regions</u>. While this legislation would not be as restrictive, it does seek to provide for more geographical diversity among the State Horse Racing Commission in that Pennsylvania's horse racing industry is statewide in its scope.

This act shall take effect in 60 days and the provisions of this act shall apply to individuals nominated as members of the commission after the effective date.

Amendment Summary [A01378] (Earll)

This amendment would amend <u>section 201 (b)</u> (relating to the establishment of the commissions – State Harness Racing Commission) of the Race Horse Industry Reform Act, by further providing for the composition of the State Harness Racing Commission in that <u>not more than two of the three commissioners</u> shall at the time of appointment reside in the <u>same county</u>. This amendment to the composition of the State Harness Racing Commission parallels the amendment to the composition of the State Horse Racing Commission.

Existing Law

Race Horse Industry Reform Act (Act 135 of 1981) – This act provides that the State Horse Racing Commission (Thoroughbred Horse Racing) shall consist of three members without any restrictions regarding where the commissioners reside in the Commonwealth.

Prior Session Legislation

[2009-10] – Senate Bill 371 (Waugh) was identical legislation introduced in the prior session and assigned to the Community, Economic and Recreational Development Committee, but was not considered.

[2007-08] – Senate Bill 1604 (Waugh) was identical legislation introduced in the prior session and assigned to the State Government Committee, but was not considered.