

Senate Environmental Resources and Energy Committee

Senator Gene Yaw

Chairman

Adam Pankake, Executive Director

Room 362 • State Capitol Building Mailing address: Senate Box 203023 • Harrisburg, PA 17120-3023 Phone: 717-787-3280 • FAX: 717-772-0575 • energy@pasen.gov

Summary Senate Resolution 55, P.N. 653

Prime Sponsor: Senator Hutchinson

Summary

- Concurrent Resolution which establishes a forestry task force to study issues concerning the renewal and management of this Commonwealth's forests The task force will consist of:
 - o Two members of the Senate
 - One appointed by the President pro tempore of the Senate
 - One appointed by the Minority Leader of the Senate
 - o Two members of the House of Representatives
 - One appointed by the Speaker of the House
 - One appointed by the Minority Leader of the House
- Provides for an advisory committee, which includes representatives from the following:
 - o Department of Conservation and Natural Resources, Bureau of Forestry;
 - o Department of Agriculture, Hardwoods Development Council;
 - o Pennsylvania Game Commission;
 - Pennsylvania State University, School of Forest Resources and Cooperative Extension Service; and
 - United States Forest Service
 - One representative from each of the five business organizations representing the forest products industry
 - One representative from up to three other organizations that the forestry task force deems appropriate to be represented.
- Directs the Joint Legislative Air and Water Pollution Control and Conservation Committee to provide administrative support to the task force.